Regaining access to your site

If you're seeing an "Account not available" error message page when you go to your Squarespace 5 website, your account has closed. This could be due to your account expiring or being cancelled, or your site may have been deactivated due to a Terms of Service violation.

If you're moving to Squarespace 7 and seeing this error message, temporarily reactivate your Squarespace 5 site to move its content to your new site.

Tip: If you aren't seeing this error message but are having trouble logging into your site, visit Login troubleshooting instead.

Reactivate your site

Click the Login button in the top-right, and attempt to log in by entering your account name and password.

The Login button may not be available for roughly two days after you remove your site. If it's been more than two days and you don't see the Login button, ensure you're logging in at the direct URL, and that the URL starts with http: instead of https:

login-button.png

When you log in, you won’t have access to the content or editing functions of the account. You’ll be taken to your Account Center. Depending on your site status, you can:

  • Pay your past-due invoice.
  • Sign up for new paid service.
  • Click Reactivate to reactivate paid service on your account.
Note: When reactivating an account, you must choose a current Squarespace 5 pricing plan. It isn't possible to return to a legacy billing plan.

Troubleshooting

If you aren't able to log in, see the tips below.

Issue Next steps
I don't see a Login button

Ensure you're logging in at the direct URL, and that the URL starts with http: instead of https:. The Login button may take up to 48 hours to appear after your site expires.

I can't remember my password Follow these steps.
My password is correct but I can't log in

Your site may have been deactivated. Contact us to resolve the issue.

Note: You’ll receive an auto-reply shortly after submitting a ticket. We respond to every ticket we receive. If you haven’t received a reply after 24 hours, check your email inbox’s spam folder before resubmitting your request.

Reactivate a sub-account

To reactivate a sub-account:

  1. Log into the master account site.
  2. In the Website Management bar, click Account Center under Billing & Support.
  3. Click the sub-account you want to reactivate.
  4. In the management tray that slides out, choose a billing plan from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click Buy Account.

Your sub-account is now reactivated. You don't need to fill out your billing information again, unless you want to make changes.

Tip: When a master account is canceled, its sub-accounts stay active until the end of their billing cycles.

reactivate-subaccount.png

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful
Regaining access to your site