Squarespace 5 doesn't have auto-save or revision history features at this time, so it’s not always possible to recover content if you accidentally delete something or lose connection. However, there are some ways to restore lost content or undo deletion.
- If a page, widget, or section was deleted in the last three days, restore it in the Architecture section.
- If you deleted content on a page or post but haven’t saved, you can undo the action in the WYSIWYG. Click the Undo icon, or press Ctrl + Z on Windows or ⌘ + Z on Mac. You can also click Cancel to revert all changes. If you already saved your changes, deleted content can't be recovered through Squarespace.
When content can’t be restored
Squarespace doesn't have auto-save or revision history features when editing, so content lost or deleted in the following situations can't be restored in Squarespace:
- If the browser is accidentally closed while editing.
- If the browser or device closes, crashes, or reloads while editing due to power or network issues.
- If content is edited in multiple places at once—for example, in two different tabs on your browser, or on the web browser and in the mobile app.
- If a page or blog post has been deleted for more than 30 days. If it’s been fewer than 30 days, visit Restoring a deleted page or Restoring a deleted blog post.
- If you clicked Save after editing pages, blog posts, or other collection items, such as products or gallery images.
- Deleting a blog post is permanent and can't be undone.
Find older ("cached") versions of pages using third-party tools
If you can’t recover deleted content through Squarespace, you might be able to find it using a tool that archives older versions of websites. The solutions below are third-party services, and we can't guarantee they'll always have your old content:
- Google the page, and view a cached version. The availability of your page will depend on when Google indexed your site.
- Search for a cached version of your site using the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
If you find content on a page cached in one of these services, use it as a reference when you manually rebuild the page.
Prevent losing content
Follow these best practices to reduce the risk of losing content:
- Save frequently as you're editing, especially blog posts or major changes to pages.
- Try to work on your site only when you have a strong network connection so you can edit and save changes confidently.
- Copy and paste text to another location, like a text document or a Google Doc.
- Keep all original image files on your computer after uploading them to your site. You may want to organize the files based on how you’ve uploaded them.
- If you added custom CSS or other code to your site, save copies of these files in a text document or Google Doc.
- Review all warnings carefully. Before any content is permanently removed, you'll be asked to confirm the deletion.
If you're moving or cancelling a site:
- You can export styles to different Squarespace 5 sites, and export your site content to Squarespace 7, our current platform. (It isn't possible to export and import content between Squarespace 5 sites.)
- If your site expires, all content is marked for permanent deletion 30 days after expiration. To avoid losing content, don’t let your site expire. If you’re cancelling your site, ensure that you have copies of all essential site data first.
Where does Squarespace store my data?
We store your data in multiple Tier III data centers across the United States. We serve images and other static assets via multiple geographically distributed content delivery networks (CDNs). This system ensures that the data in each page view is served from the data center closest to the visitor’s location.
All Squarespace sites are hosted across our private cloud with full redundancy. If a primary service fails, we can switch to a backup service. Our Operations team monitors Squarespace sites 24x7 and is ready to respond to incidents within minutes of detecting an anomaly.