Deleting a page, widget, or section

 

You can delete pages, widgets, and sections from your site in Structure mode or your site's Architecture area. This guide reviews both options.

Tip: To delete your whole site, visit Deleting your site and its content.

Watch a video

Before you begin

  • Deleting a page removes all content on the page.
  • Deleting a folder removes all pages within the folder.
  • Deleting a section removes all pages or widgets within the section.
  • The deleted content moves to a recycle bin, where it's accessible for approximately three days if you want to recover it.
  • After deleting the page, you can create a URL redirect to prevent visitors from getting a "404 Page not found" error when they visit its URL.
  • To delete the homepage, first set a new homepage, then follow the steps in this guide.

If you think you'll need a page later, you have other options besides deleting it:

Option 1 - Architecture area

In the Website Management bar, click Architecture under Structure.

  • Page or widget - Hover over the page or widget and click Remove.
  • Section - Click Remove at the top of the section.

remove-page-or-section.png

Option 2 - Structure mode

In Structure mode:

  • Page or widget - Hover over the page or widget and click Remove.
  • Section - Click Remove next to the section.

remove-page-or-section-2.png 

Recover a deleted page, widget, or section

Deleted content moves to the Recycle Bin, where it's accessible for approximately three days if you want to recover it.

  • When you recover a component, it moves to your Architecture area in its original section as a disabled page or widget. Enable it to make it live on your site.
  • You can't recover a section directly. Instead, recover all pages or widgets within the section. They will reappear in the Architecture area within the original section.
  • If you delete an empty section, it doesn't appear in the Recycle Bin.

To recover a page or widget:

  1. In the Website Management bar, click Architecture under Structure.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and click Recover Deleted Components.

recover-deleted-components.png

  1. Hover over any page or widget and click Recover.

recover-components.png

  1. Click Architecture in the Website Management bar to see the recovered page or widget and Enable it.

enable.png 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Deleting a page, widget, or section