You can delete your site after cancelling your subscription. This guide explains how to delete a site and what happens when you delete content from Squarespace.
What happens to deleted content?
There are different ways to delete your content. Before you delete any content from Squarespace, we recommend reviewing what happens to your deleted content.
Deleting a site marks its content for permanent deletion. Only expired or cancelled sites can be deleted.
Here’s what happens to your content after deleting your entire site:
- Your site won’t be accessible to visitors.
- Your site and its content are marked for permanent deletion.
- It may take more than 30 days for us to permanently delete the site from our system.
- You won’t be able to log in to make changes.
Deleted pages or posts
When you delete select content from a live site, like a page:
- Visitors can no longer find or see the content.
- The deleted content moves to a recycle bin, where it's accessible for approximately 30 days if you want to recover it.
- Deleted items can take more than 30 days to be permanently deleted from our system.
- When you delete a page, visitors will see a "Page Not Found" message when they visit its URL. To prevent this from happening, set up a URL redirect or use the same URL for a replacement page.
Before you delete your entire site
- To delete a site with a paid subscription, cancel your subscription first.
- Before deleting your site, you may want to transfer or export your content.
- If your site has a Squarespace Domain, it can’t be deleted until you cancel or transfer the domains.
- If your site is connected to a third-party domain, disconnect the domain before deleting your site.
Delete your site
- To mark your site for deletion, cancel your account. The site will be deleted at the end of the current billing cycle.
- To delete the site immediately, first cancel the account, then remove the account.
Note: Deleting a master account also deletes any sub-accounts.
Restore a deleted site
If your site has expired or is past-due, or if you cancelled it yourself, you may be able to reactivate it.
To restore a site you deleted by following this guide, contact us. If your content hasn’t been permanently deleted, we may be able to restore it for you, depending in part on how long it’s been since you deleted your site.
When reactivating an account, you must choose a current Squarespace 5 pricing plan; it isn't possible to return to a legacy billing plan.