Changing your billing plan

Squarespace 5 has two billing plans: Standard and Unlimited. You can change your billing plan on an active site at any time.

  • If you upgrade your plan, you'll be charged the prorated difference.
  • If you downgrade, a prorated refund will be applied directly to the card that was last charged for service.
Tip: You can also switch between the monthly and annual billing cycles using the steps below. If you're on a legacy plan, you'll need to move to one of our current plans to change the billing cycle.

Selecting a new plan

To change your billing plan, open the Website Management bar and click Account Center under Billing & Support. Then click Change Plan.

 

Enter your password in the Password field and click Proceed.

Select the new package and scroll to the next section. 

Select a monthly, yearly, or two-year plan. Then confirm your upgrade charge to complete the purchase.

Warning messages

If you're switching to the Standard plan, you may see one or both of these warnings:

  • Continuing will remove injected code
  • Per page stylesheets will be deleted

The Standard plan doesn't support style overrides, banner overrides, or Code Injection for any code injection points except Extra Header Code. When you switch to the Standard plan, your injected code and overrides will be deleted.

Past-due sites

After you update your billing credit card, you can change your billing plan. It's not possible to change your billing plan while your site is past due.

When you update your billing credit card, your site reactivates on your previous plan. If you then downgrade, you’ll be refunded the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

Change the billing plan for a sub-account

To change the billing package of a sub-account, log into its master account, open the Website Management bar and click Account Center under Billing & Support. 

Click next to the name of the account you want to change. In the section that slides out, select a new plan from the Plan drop-down. Then click Update Plan.

Note: If you see a Whoops error, open a ticket so we can investigate and resolve the issue.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 7 found this helpful
Changing your billing plan