Squarespace 7 linked sites

Some users have a Squarespace 7 site with a billing account that's linked to a Squarespace 5 site. This guide explains the options and restrictions for these linked sites.

Note: It's no longer possible to link a Squarespace 7 site's billing to a Squarespace 5 site.

Do I have a linked site?

You may have a linked site if you meet all of these points:

  1. You were a Squarespace 5 customer in 2012.
  2. You received a free Squarespace 6 site as part of our new platform launch.
  3. Your Squarespace 6 site converted to Squarespace 7 in 2014.

To check if your site is linked:

  1. Log into your Squarespace 7 site.
  2. In the Home Menu, click Settings.
  3. Click Billing & Account.
  4. Click Billing.
  5. At the top of the Billing panel, you'll see a message that says: "This site is included with your Squarespace 5 membership."

Restrictions

Platform integrations

Linked sites don't support official integrations that require a credit card on file. For example:

  • Getty Images
  • G Suite by Google 

Billing plans

For linked sites, you have access to the two Squarespace 5 billing plans:

Commerce

On a linked site:

  • You can sell a maximum of 25 products. (On unlinked Squarespace 7 websites, you can sell unlimited products.)
  • The Commerce App isn't supported.

Premium features

Linked sites don't support some Premium features, including:

Domains

Linked sites include a free Squarespace Domain on the annual billing plan.

To add more domains, you can:

Visit Domains basics on our Squarespace 7 help site for more help with each of these options.

Unlink your site to get more access

To access all Squarespace 7 features, unlink your site from Squarespace 5.

Unlinking a site is permanent and can't be reversed. After unlinking a site, you can’t re-link it to any other sites, including the site it was originally linked to.

Watch a video

Unlink your site

To unlink your site:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Under Unlink Website, click Unlink Squarespace 5 Website Billing. Then click Unlink Website in the warning message to confirm.

Your Squarespace 7 site immediately reverts to trial status. It will expire in 14 days if you don't upgrade to a paid hosting plan.

To keep your site public and to access all Squarespace 7 features, upgrade to paid service and publish your site.

Cancel Squarespace 5 billing (optional)

When you're ready to exclusively use your Squarespace 7 site, cancel your Squarespace 5 billing to avoid paying for two sites simultaneously.

  1. Log into your Squarespace 5 site and click Website Management, then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Cancel Account, then enter your password.
  3. Confirm by entering the word "CANCEL" and clicking Cancel Account

For more details, visit Cancelling and deleting a site.

My linked site expired

If your Squarespace 5 billing plan expires:

  • Your Squarespace 7 site reverts to a 14-day trial.
  • Once you reactivate your Squarespace 5 site, your Squarespace 7 site will reactivate automatically. This process usually takes 24 hours.
  • If you need more time while you reactivate your Squarespace 5 site, you can extend your Squarespace 7 site's trial period.
  • If you're not planning to reactivate your Squarespace 5 site, you can upgrade your Squarespace 7 site to paid service.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Squarespace 7 linked sites